Feature Requests
Share ideas, discuss and vote on requests from other users in community
 

predefined replies - detect and resolve merge conflicts

Jens Pape shared this idea 5 months ago
Under Consideration

The problem is when one user creates a predefined answer and another one edits and saves it. The first user makes a change again, then this change will not be shown to the other user and will be added to the ticket. The problem occurs after the third change of different users.

Depending on what the third user edits, important information will be lost where the user had previously made the change.

i think this comes from the Browser Caching or is a bug in the system, but the only way at the moment is to copy the predefined replie in a file outside from this system, changing at and delete the old predefined replie in the system and recreate them with the copied version from the outside Version

Comments (2)

photo
1

Hi Jens,

Thanks for your suggestion.

Detecting and resolving merge conflicts in predefined articles could potentially quite a complex undertaking, as there are entire systems involved to detecting and handling simultaneous editing of files by multiple users (git, svn etc).

Perhaps a smaller scope might be a warning when another user is editing a predefined reply, similar to those on support tickets. Might that still meet your needs?

How often do you encounter a situation where multiple users are editing the same predefined reply?

photo
1

Hi,

it is a mistake. the Problem is solved in the next WHMCS Update.....

=> We Do NOT edit at the same time!

Day 1: Person A edits the Predefined Reply #1 (and presses "Save Changes" afterwards)

Day 2: Person B edits the Predefined Reply #1. If he nerver edited it before => will see the changes made by "Person A" on Day 1

Presses "Save Changes" afterwards

Day 3: Person A again edits the Predefined Reply #1 => now he will NOT SEE the changes made by Person B on Day 2 => he will only see his "last change" made on Day 1 => and when he presses "Save Changes" => overwrites Changes made by Person B on Day 2.

Day 4: Person B edits => will not see changes made by Person A on Day 3 => only his own changes on Day 2 => "Save Changes" will overwrite changes made by Person A on Day 3

----

Thanks for providing further details, I have been able to reproduce the behaviour described in our test environment and have raised case #CORE-15778 with our developers in order to have this reviewed for future releases. Whilst I cannot provide an estimated time for completion for this, once we resolve cases and push features they are available in our change log at https://changelog.whmcs.com/

I apologize for the inconvenience, and appreciate your patience as we work to resolve this.

Thanks again for taking the time to report your findings.

Best regards,

Dan Rodgers

Technical Analyst

WHMCS, Ltd.