Feature Requests
Share ideas, discuss and vote on requests from other users in community
 
This object is in archive! 

Restrict the option to delet private staff notes and customers reply in the tickets system.

ramf shared this idea 7 years ago
Under Consideration

Hi,

We need a way to restrict the option to delete private staff notes in the ticket system so one can only delete his notes only. now ad admin can delete any note - even if it was added by other admin.

There should be an option to set the permission: no deletion at all, can delete his notes only, can delete any note (for full admins).

Another important thing is to restrict the option to delete or edit the customers reply in the tickets system.

There is an Add/Edit Client Notes option bot not Add/Edit Client message in the ticket,This is a big problem if any operator can change or delete what the customer wrote in the ticket it will damage our credibility..

Comments (5)

photo
1

Posted 1 year ago - What do you think?

photo
1

Hi,

I'm the only one concerned by this issue?

Don't you think that if staff member can delete other staff members notes is problematic?

and even worse - anyone can Add/Edit Client message in the ticket - so a customer can send us a mail - and we can change it without a problem to something different ...

What do you think?

I'm sure this is a small thing to add to the permissions list...

Thanks,

Ram

photo
1

anuone?

photo
1

Hi,

So after installing the new 6.3 version I noticed that an admin is no longer able to delete notes without having the permission to "Delete Ticket".

According to WHMCS support:

"That functionality was intentionally changed in WHMCS 6.3. While improving the note functionality and re-implementing it in the latest version it was decided that allowing all administrator users to delete data from notes wasn't the best idea. In response this functionality was tied to the Delete Tickets permission."

O.k. I do appreciate that now an admin need a special permission to delete a note - thanks.

But linking such a permission to the Delete Ticket permission is not the right way (IMO).

I think that there should be separate permission to delete or edit customers replies - such an option is highly sensitive permission - since changing customers replies without any trace or way to see the original message from the customer can lead to some trust issue and maybe law suit from customers.

Another and separate permission should be related to adding / deleting / editing customers notes (in the customer profile)

and yet another and separate permission should be related to adding / deleting / editing notes in the ticket system.

such a permission should be set as: no permission to delete a ticket note at all, can delete his own notes only, can delete any note.

Hope such a feature will be added - since giving a permission to all of my staff to delete customers replies is something I'm reluctant to do.

What do you think?

Thanks!

Ram