Do not send confirmation email on creating account by default
There's a switch on the user creation page, which says to send an email with account information. When disabled, it will not send this specific email, but there's still a verification email sent.
In my current situation I'm manually importing some clients, I do not want them to receive emails.
A workaround for me is creating the account with a dummy address, then changing it.