Disable auto renew on transfer
Currently when a domain name is transferred from Registrar A to Registrar B within WHMCS an 'auto renew on transfer' action is sent to the Registrar which ends up in the Registrant being invoiced for an additional 12 months for the domain name renewal. This renewal happens even though there are say 10 months left before the domain name is due to expire. The domain name then is due to expire in 10+12 months.
This is inconvenient for two reasons:
- Registrant does not want to renew for a further 12 months - additional cost to Registrant which is not necessary
- Does not allow my company to claim 'free transfer' as a service sweetener (transfer is free yes, but the Customer ends up with an invoice and it is often difficult to explain to the Customer why they are being invoiced an additional 12 months renewal fee)
The ideal solution will be for one to be able to select which TLDs should auto renew on transfer and which ones you can disable.
I agree that auto renew on expired domains is already a feature and very useful, but auto renew on transfer is unhelpful if it cannot be disabled for certain TLDs. The reason why it should be able to be disabled for certain TLDs is because some TLDs are required to be renewed on transfer in certain countries I believe.