Feature Requests
Share ideas, discuss and vote on requests from other users in community
 

When deleting a client delete all the relevant files from the attachments folder

ramf shared this idea 4 months ago
Under Consideration

Hi,

When deleting a client, all the files that belongs to this customer or in that ticket are not being deleted from the attachments folder, this create lots of lost files in out server.

I think that when deleting a ticket or a client all the files that belongs to this customer or in that ticket should be removed as well.

What do you think?

Thanks!

Ram

Comments (5)

photo
1

Hi,

Thanks for your suggestion. I can confirm that when a ticket is deleted, the attachment is deleted too.

This could potentially be complicated if a ticket containing an attachment was merged or split. What is your experience in that regard?

photo
1

Hi,


According to your support department (ticket #HXP-520872) :


  1. Thank you for contacting WHMCS.
  2. When you click the 'Delete Client' option from the client summary page for the specific client, it runs through the following and removes them from the system:

  3. tblclients

  4. tblcontacts

  5. tblhostingconfigoptions

  6. tblhostingaddons

  7. tblcustomfieldsvalues

  8. tblorders

  9. tblhosting

  10. tbldomains

  11. tblemails

  12. tblinvoices

  13. tblinvoiceitems

  14. tbltickets

  15. tblaffilaties

  16. tblnotes

  17. tblcredit

  18. tblactivitylog

  19. tblsslorders

  20. tblauthn_account_links

  21. Once it has done this, it then logs to the activity log Client Deleted - ID: $userid.

  22. In regards to deleting the client associated files from the attachments/ directory for any files belonging to the client, this would in fact be a feature request as this has not been functionality within the product at any time, so currently expected behaviour is that they are not removed.




What about when deleting a ticket?


  1. No this would not achieve this.

  2. In regards to deleting the client associated files from the attachments/ directory for any files belonging to the client, I would encourage you to please submit a request to our feature requests tracker




Any way - I tested it and created a short video that shows the problem regarding tickets attachments - when deleting the ticket the attachment remains in the attachments folder.

I added this video to my ticket mentioned above.
Can you please check it?
Thanks!
Ram

photo
1

Thanks for clarifying that that you would like to add the deletion of attachments in tickets when deleting a client. As our support team advised, this is not currently something that is done. But it is done when a ticket is deleted directly.

I've taken the liberty of tweaking your feature request to make that clearer.

photo
1

Hi,

Actually no - I'm talking about deleting attachments when deleting a ticket.

Please have a look at the relevant video in my ticket.

Thanks!

Ram

photo
photo
1

This should be in system.

The function should also use "tblclientsfiles".